Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Calhoun County

Calhoun County


Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was the seventh Vice President of the United   States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pocahontas County

E – Webster County

S – Greene County and Carroll County

W – Sac County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Calhoun County

County Seat:

Lake City         1856 – 1877

Rockwell City  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Rockwell City


Location:  416 4th Street / Main Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  W F Gernandt

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story cream colored limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Rockwell City. The building has a raised basement. The front has a high portico supported by four tall columns with pediment containing a crest. The entrance has a small pediment above. The north and south wings project from the main building. The roof is red colored clay tiles. In the interior is a three story rotunda with stained glass skylight. Stairs ascend on the south side of the rotunda. The County Magistrate Court courtroom is located on the north side of the first story. The County District Court courtroom is located on the second story and has a ceramic tile floor and coffered ceiling. Along the east side is a gallery on the third story. Across from the courtroom is a small courtroom with ornate wood judge’s bench. The building houses the District Court of the 2B Judicial District. During construction, the superintendent was W E McClure.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Calhoun County Courthouse


See:  The 2B Judicial District includes Boone County, Greene CountyHamilton CountyHardin County, Humboldt CountyMarshall County, Pocahontas CountyStory County, Webster County and Wright County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Lake City was selected as the county seat in 1856 when the county was organized. The court met in private residence until the first courthouse was built in 1856 in Lake City at of $1,100. In 1877 the county seat was moved to Rockwell City and the second courthouse was built in 1877 at a cost of $2,000. The courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1884. The county rented the Lewis & Smith Hotel until the third courthouse was designed and built by Post & Burson in 1886. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1913 to 1914 at a cost of $116,200.



County Courthouse – Rockwell City





















County District Court courtroom





















Photos taken 2008 and 2024