Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Marshall County

Marshall County


Marshall County is named for John Marshall, who was Chief Justice of the United States Supreme Court.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hardin County and Grundy County

E – Tama Country

S – Jasper County

W – Story County


Created:  January 13, 1846                    Map of Iowa highlighting Marshall County

County Seat:

Marietta          1852 – 1860

Marshalltown  1860 – present


County Courthouse – Marshalltown


Location:  1 East Main Street / Center Street

Built:  1884 – 1886

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  J C Cochrane

Contractor:  La Grand Quarry Company, Banzhaf & Atkinson and D W Townsend.


Description: The building faces north and is a five story limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Marshalltown. The building has a raised basement. The north front has a portico with four columns rising to a balcony at the second story. The center section projects from the main building and rises above the roof line with three statues at the top. Peaked roofs are on the east and west sides. Pedimented wall dormers surround the building at the roofline. In the building center is a high square limestone dome with clock, dome and small cupola at the top. In the interior is a cross hall plan on the second story with rotunda at the center extending up to the dome at the top of the fifth story. Dual stairways ascend to the fifth story and on each story, wood railings surround the rotunda. There are columns, terrazzo floor and carved wood work. There are four County District Court courtrooms with two located on the fourth story and two located on the fifth story. The building houses the County District Court of the 2B Judicial District. In 1975 a $2,695,692 contract was awarded to Metal Structures for restoration work. Some of the restoration included the removal of the 16-foot cap of the cupola, installation of elevators, construction of a floor between old main floor and the courtroom floor and new roof was also added. The building was damaged by a tornado on July 19, 2018 and was repaired by 2023. OPN Architects of Cedar Falls and the contractor was Breiholz Construction Company of Des Moines.


See:  The 2B Judicial District includes Boone County, Calhoun CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHardin County, Humboldt CountyPocahontas CountyStory County and Wright County.


History:  The county was created in 1846 and Marietta was selected as the county seat in 1852 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was a one story structure built in Marietta in 1852. In 1860, the county seat was moved to Marshalltown. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure with stone foundation, built in Marshall ( Marshalltown )in 1860 and used until 1886. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1884 to 1886 at a cost of $144,000.



County Courthouse – Marshalltown






























County District Court courtroom













County District Court courtroom















County District Court courtroom











Photos taken 2008 and 2024