Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Hardin County

Hardin County


Hardin County is named for John J Hardin, who was from Illinois and who was killed in the American Mexican War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Franklin County

E – Grundy County

S – Marshall County and Story County

W – Hamilton County


Created:  January 15, 1851                    Map of Iowa highlighting Hardin County

County Seat:

Eldora  1853 – present


County Courthouse – Eldora


Location:  1215 Edgington Avenue / Washington Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Victorian

Architect:  Truman Dudley Allen of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contractor:   J F Atkins


Description: The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Eldora. The building has stone trim around the windows, entrances and foundation. Above the north entrance is a high clock tower with alcove at the third floor with statues. On the northwest corner is a round tower with conical roof. On the corners are large square towers with peaked roofs. The interior has a central rotunda and the courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 2B Judicial District. The building was restored in 1968 to 1970. The architect was Donald McKeown and the contractor was R D Stewart Inc.


See:  The architect Truman Dudley Allen of Minneapolis, Minnesota also designed courthouses in Franklin County and Hardin CountyIowa. Blue Earth CountyRock County and Steele CountyMinnesota, Medina County, Ohio and Richland CountyWisconsin.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Hardin County Courthouse


See:  The 2B Judicial District includes Boone County, Calhoun CountyGreene CountyHamilton CountyHumboldt CountyMarshall County, Pocahontas CountyStory County, Webster County and Wright County.


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Eldora was selected as the county seat in 1853. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1856 and was destroyed by fire in the same year. The second courthouse was built in 1857. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 to 1893 at a cost of $48,000. In 1968, the building was restored at a cost of $375,000.



County Courthouse – Eldora

















Photos taken 2008