Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Schuyler County

Schuyler County

Schuyler County is named for Philip Schuyler, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War and later a United States Senator from New York.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Yates County and Seneca County

E – Tompkins County

S – Chemung County and Steuben County

W – Steuben County and Yates County 


Created:  April 17, 1854                         Map of New York highlighting Schuyler County 

County Seat:

Montour Falls   1854 – 1867

Watkins Glen   1867 – present


County Courthouse – Watkins Glen


Location:  105 9th Street / North Franklin Street

Built:  1867 – 1868

Style:  Georgian

Architect:  James A Drake and William Newman of Drake & Newman

Contractor:  James A Drake and William Newman of Drake & Newman


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure and is part of the three building complex with the Clerk’s Office and Sheriff’s Office..The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Watkins Glen. The west front has a small portico supported by four columns with pediment above. Above the front section is a high square white colored wood cupola with gold dome at the top. The roof is hipped. An addition was added in 1952. The building was renovated in 1973. The architect was Frederic J Licht. A further addition was added on the north side in 1993. The architect was John Harvey Associates of Geneva and the contractor was McGuire & Bennett of Ithaca.


Note:  After a protracted legal battle with Havana ( Montour Falls ) for the county seat, interests in Watkins won out and the clerk’s office and jail were added and completed by 1868.


Old County Courthouse – Montour Falls



Location:  330 West Main Street / Genesee Street

Built:  1854 – 1855

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Gillispie and Coreyell.

Contractor:  Gillispie and Coreyell.


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Montour Falls and is constructed of brick, the structure is prostyle tetrastyle. The front has a large portico  with six columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The original door and sidelights, as well as Grecian styled hanging lamps, all contribute to the facade. The most conspicuous is the octagonal wood frame cupola rising high above the building. The building is now the Montour Village Hall.


See:  The 6th Judicial District located at 31 Lewis Street in Binghampton and includes Broome County, Chemung County, Chenango CountyCortland CountyDelaware CountyMadison CountyOtsego CountySchuyler CountyTioga County and Tompkins County.


History:  The county was created in 1854 and Montour Falls was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1854 to 1855 and is still standing. The county seat was moved to Watkins Glen in 1867. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1867 to 1868.



County Courthouse – Watkins Glen























Old County Courthouse – Montour Falls 











Photos taken 2010 and 2014