Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Texas » Limestone County

Limestone County

Limestone County is named for the limestone deposit in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hill County and Navarro County

E – Freestone County

S – Leon County and Robertson County

W – Falls County  and McLennan County


Created:  April 11, 1846                          Map of Texas highlighting Limestone County

County Seat: 

Springfield    1847 – 1873

Groesbeck    1873 – present


County Courthouse – Groesbeck


Location:  200 West State Street / Ellis Street

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Classical Revival and Beaux Arts

Architect:  R H Stuckey of Midwest Engineering Company of Amarillo

Contractor:  William M Rice of Amarillo


Description:  The building faces northeast and is a three story brick, concrete, tile and marble structure.  The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Groesbeck. The east and west ends project from the main building. The recessed center section has vertical classical columns between the windows and the three arched entrances. At the top of the second story is a wide header with small windows above on the third story. The building has a variety of ornamentation. The roof line is flat. In the interior there are tile floors. The courtroom is located on the second story and has a curved balcony extending into the third story. 


See:  The contractor, William M Rice of Amarillo, also constructed courthouses as W M Rice Construction Company in Bailey CountyBriscoe CountyCochran CountyFreestone CountyLipscomb County, Oldham CountyParmer County and Wood County and designed the courthouse in Lynn County..


History:  The county was created in 1847 and Springfield was selected as the county seat in 1847. The first courthouse was built in Springfield in 1847. The second courthouse was built in Springfield in 1856 and burned in 1873. When the county seat was moved to Groesbeck in 1873, the third courthouse was a brick structure designed by W C Dodson and built in in 1878 at a cost of $23,000. The fourth courthouse was designed by Albert Ullrich and constructed by R H Stuckey in 1892 at a cost of $58,700. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed in 1823 to 1924 at a cost of $300,000.



County Courthouse – Groesbeck















































Cornerstone 1892 Courthouse



Photos taken 2014 and 2019