Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Essex County

Essex County

Essex County is named for the County of Essex in England.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Franklin County and Clinton County

E – Grand Isle County, Vermont, Chittenden County, Vermont and  Addison County, Vermont

S – Washington County and Warren County

W – Hamilton County and Franklin County


Created:  March 1, 1799                         Map of New York highlighting Essex County

County Seat:

Essex              1799 – 1811

Elizabethtown  1811 – present


County Courthouse – Elizabethtown


Location:  7559 Court Street / Williams Street

Built:  1995 – 1996

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Einhorn, Yaffee and Prescott (EYP) of Albany

Contractor:  BBL Construction Services


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Elizabethtown. The east front has a large portico supported by four thin white colored columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. Above the entrance are large glass windows. The center section projects from the main building. A white colored horizontal band runs below the roof line. The roof line is flat. The County Government Complex includes the Court House on the north side, Probate Court Building, Auditors Building, Board of Supervisors Building, Old Court House and Family Services Building on the south side.


Old County Courthouse – Elizabethtown



Location:  7524 Court Street / Park Street

Built:  1823 – 1825

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story red colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Elizabethtown. The east front has a wide portico supported by four white columns with a pediment above. On either side of the entrance are long vertical windows. Above the pediment is a square white wood cupola. In 1843 a second story was added for a courtroom, and in 1880, the second story was removed and an addition constructed on the west side. The building was renovated in 1910. The architect was Lineham, Burnham Company.

See:  The 4th Judicial District is located at 101 State Farm Place in Malta and includes Clinton CountyFranklin County, Fulton CountyHamilton County, Montgomery County, Saint Lawrence County, Saratoga County, Schenectady County, Warren County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1799 and the first county seat was Essex. The county seat was moved to Elizabethtown in 1811. The first courthouse was a blockhouse built in 1814. The building burned and the second courthouse was built but the building burned in 1823. The third courthouse was a one story structure built in 1823 to 1824. The second story was built in 1843. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1995 to 1996.


Note:  The highest point in New York is Mount Marcy at 5,344 feet ( 1,629 meters ) which is located in the county.



County Courthouse – Elizabethtown











Old County Courthouse –  Elizabethtown









Old courtroom

















Photos taken 2010 and 2018