Skip to content
Home » US States » N » New York » Schenectady County

Schenectady County

Schenectady County is named for a Mohawk word meaning “on the other side of the pine lands”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Montgomery County and Saratoga County

E – Saratoga County

S – Albany County and Schoharie County

W – Montgomery County


Created:  March 7, 1809                         Map of New York highlighting Schenectady County

County Seat:

Schenectady  1809 – present


County Courthouse – Schenectady  


Location:  612 State Street / Lafayette Street

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  W L Stoddart

Contractor:  John McDermott


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story structure. The north front has a recessed porch with six columns rising to a wide header at the top of the third story. The fourth story is recessed. The roof line is flat.


See:  The 4th Judicial District is located at 101 State Farm Place in Malta and includes Clinton CountyEssex CountyFranklin County, Fulton CountyHamilton County, Montgomery County, Saint Lawrence County, Saratoga County, Warren County and Washington County.


Old County Courthouse – Schenectady  



Location:  108 Union Street / North Ferry Road

Built:  1831 – 1833

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John W Teller

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored brick structure. The south front has a large porch with six high columns rising to a wide pediment at the roof line. The roof is hipped. The building served as the courthouse until 1913. In 2012, the building was being renovated by Raz Mahoutian.



County Courthouse – Schenectady













Old County Courthouse – Schenectady







Photis taken 2010 and 2014