Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Fayette County

Fayette County

Fayette County is named for Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette, who was a French general and politician and who fought in the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Madison County

E – Pickaway County and Ross County

S – Highland County

W – Clinton County and Greene County


Created:  March 1, 1810                         Map of Ohio highlighting Fayette County

County Seat:

Washington Court House  1810 – present


County Courthouse – Washington Court House


Location: 110 East Court Street / North Main Street

Built:  1882 – 1885

Style:  Second Empire

Architect:  David W Gibbs & Company

Contractor:  J North Brothers and  John Lichtemberger


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story gray colored Bedford limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Washington Court House. The first story consists of smooth stone and rectangular windows. Each side has a portico supported by four columns rising on the second story to a pediment at the roof line and having a balcony on the second story. The pediment contains a tympanum decorated with a wreath surrounded by flags. The second floor contains arched windows set into rusticated stone blocks. Decorative carved wreaths are set between each window. The third floor is lined with smooth stones and is pierced by long rectangular windows topped by a small square window above. A decorative frieze runs along this floor between the windows and Corinthian pilasters frame each window. On the center of the building is a square clock tower containing s giant eight day Seth Thomas clock. At the top of the tower is a white colored dome with statue. In the interior is a central staircase and murals painted by Archibald M Willard. The County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas and County Court of Common Pleas – Probate and Juvenile Divisions.


See:  The architect David W Gibb designed courthouses in Henry CountyMarion County and Union County.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Middletown ( 12th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1810 and Bloomington was selected as the county seat. The first court was held in the home of John Devault. The county seat was moved to Washington Court House in 1812 and the first courthouse, wood structure, was built. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1813.  The courthouse burned down in 1828. The third courthouse was built in 1828 on the same site. The fourth and present courthouse was constructed in 1882 to 1885 at a cost of $45,000.



County Courthouse – Washington Court House

















County Court of Common Pleas courtroom











Photos taken 2005 and 2012