Skip to content
Home » US States » O-U » Ohio » Hardin County

Hardin County

Hardin County is named for John Hardin, who was sent in 1792 to negotiate a treaty with the Miami Indians and who was subsequently executed by them.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hancock County

E – Wyandot County and Marion County

S – Union County and Logan County

W – Auglaize County and Allen County


Created:  April 1, 1820                            Map of Ohio highlighting Hardin County

County Seat:

Kenton  1834 – present


County Courthouse – Kenton 


Location:  1 Court House Square / Franklin Street

Built:  1913 – 1915

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Richards, McCarty & Bulford

Contractor:  Steininger, Taylor Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story Indiana gray colored limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped Courthouse Square in the center of Kenton. The east and west sides has a projecting center section with central entrance on the first story and four columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story. At the top is a wide header with pediment. A balustrade runs along the flat roof line. The interior has a large rectangular atrium in the center rising two stories and lighted by a skylight with stained glass. There are murals and chandelers made of brasswork. The building house the County Court of Common Pleas, Court of Common Pleas – Juvenile Division and Court of Common Please – Probate Division. 


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Lima  ( 3rd Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1820 and Kenton was selected as the county seatin 1834. Before, the county was attached to  Logan County for judicial purposes. The first courthouse was built in 1834. The second courthouse was built in 1880. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1915 to 1916.



County Courthouse –  Kenton































Photos taken 2015 and 2018