Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Dundy County

Dundy County


Dundy County is named for Judge Elmer S Dundy ( 1830-1896 ) of the United States circuit court and a former resident of Falls City, Nebraska.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chase County

E – Hitchcock County

S – Rawlins County, Kansas and Cheyenne County, Kansas

W – Yuma County, Colorado


Created:  February 27, 1873                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Dundy County

County Seat:

Benkelman  1880 – present


County Courthouse – Benkelman  


Location:  106 7th Avenue West / Chief Street

Built:  1921 – 1922

Style:  Federal

Architect:  A T Simmons of Bloomington, Illinois

Contractor:  Mont J Green of Manhattan, Kansas


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story dark red colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Benkelman. The south front has a raised basement with the stone steps rising to the entrance on the first story. The central south section of the building projects from the main building and has a canopy over the first story entrance and small windows above the second story which rises above the roof line. The geometric shapes, poured concrete entry canopies (suspended by three heavy wrought iron chains on the south facade), brick soldier courses, and decorative urns all reflect stylistic influences from late 19th and early 20th century American movements. In the interior, directly across from the entry foyer are short steps up to the first story and down to the ground story. On the first story is a rather small hallway that is aligned north-to-south. Interior elements are spare but not lacking in dignity. Notable are the golden oak woodwork throughout, white hexagonal floor tile with a three color border pattern, simple metal balusters and newels, and simple hanging globes in the corridors. On the second story the combined County District Court and County Court courtroom occupies most of the east half of the building. The paneled bar, jury box, judge’s bench, and chair rails in the courtroom are also golden oak and simply designed. The building houses the County District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District. 


Note:  Lincoln Land Company, donated the present courthouse square to assist Benkelman in its bid to be the county seat. The company recognized that town lots were more valuable in a county seat than in a former county seat. 


See:  The architect, A T Simmons of Bloomington, Illinois, also designed the courthouse in Chase County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Dundy County Courthouse


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyFrontier County, Furnas County, Gosper County, Hayes CountyHitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, Logan CountyMcPherson CountyPerkins County, Red Willow County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1973 and Benkelman was selected as the county seat in 1884 when the county was organized. The first courthouse was built in 1888 to 1889. The courthouse was demolished when the second and present courthouse was constructed in 1921 to 1922.



County Courthouse – Benkelman  




















County District Court and County Court courtroom











Photos taken 2007 and 2023