Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Logan County

Logan County


Logan County is named for John A Logan, who was a General and who lived from 1826 to 1886.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Thomas County

E – Custer County

S – Lincoln County

W – McPherson County


Created:  February 24, 1885                  Map of Nebraska highlighting Logan County

County Seat:

Gandy       1885 – 1929

Stapleton  1929 – present


County Courthouse – Stapleton  


Location:  317 Main Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1962 – 1963

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Robert L Murphy

Contractor:  Ely & Sons, Inc.


Description:  The building faces west and is a one story red colored brick and colored concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stapleton. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stapleton. The west front has a central recessed glass entrance with the center section of the wall rising above the roof line. On the north side are three vertical windows and on the south side is a large window. The building is “L” shaped with a southeast wing. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the hallway runs east-west and then turns north-south into the southeast wing. The combined County District Court and County Court is located in the southeast wing. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District. 


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyDundy County, Frontier County, Furnas County, Gosper County, Hayes CountyHitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, McPherson CountyPerkins County, Red Willow County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Grandy was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built by Jim Gandy in 1887. The county seat was moved to Stapleton in 1929. The second courthouse was the Nicholas Hotel built in 1912 and converted in 1930. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on March 13, 1962. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1962 to 1963. 



County Courthouse – Stapleton





















County District Court and County Court courtroom

















Photos taken 2011, 2016 and 2023