Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » McPherson County

McPherson County


McPherson County is named for General James B McPherson ( 1828-1864 ), a general of the Civil War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Hooker County and Thomas County

E – Logan County

S – Lincoln County and Keith County

W – Arthur County


Created:  March 31, 1887                       Map of Nebraska highlighting McPherson County

County Seat:

Tyron  1890 – present


County Courthouse –  Tryon  


Location:  5th Street / Anderson Street

Built:  2005 – 2006

Style:  Modern

Architect:  KP Construction LLC of North Platte

Contractor:  KP Construction LLC of North Platte


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Tyron. The main entrance on the east side protrudes with two brick pillars supporting a peaked roof. The main roof is hipped. In the interior the walls are drywall and the floors are concrete with carpets. The combined County District Court and County Court courtroom located on the west side of the building is simple in style. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District.


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyDundy County, Frontier County, Furnas County, Gosper County, Hayes CountyHitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, Logan CountyPerkins County, Red Willow County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1887 and Tyron was selected as the county seat in 1890 when the county was organized. The county officers first met at the residence of D P Wilcox. The first courthouse was a sod structure with hip roof and framing overlaid with tar paper in 1890. The second courthouse was a two story red colored brick structure designed by Bert M Reynolds and built in 1825 to 1826. The courthouse was damaged by a wind storm in 2004. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 2005 to 2006 at a cost of $297,111.



County Courthouse – Tryon













County District Court and County Court courtroom





Commissioner Minutes 2004







Photos taken 2007, 2011 and 2016