Skip to content
Home » US States » N » Nebraska » Gosper County

Gosper County


Gosper County is named for John J Gosper, who was secretary of state in Nebraska.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Dawson County

E – Phelps County

S – Furnas County

W – Frontier County


Created:  August 29, 1873                      Map of Nebraska highlighting Gosper County

County Seat:

Daviesville  1873 – 1884

Homerville  1884 – 1889

Elwood       1889 – present


County Courthouse – Elwood  


Location:  507 Smith Avenue / Rochelle Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  McClure and Walker

Contractor:  W L Phillips & Sons.


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story light red colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Elwood. The rectangular shaped building has a projecting center section on the west side with concrete pavilion and recessed entrance on the first story. There are entrance pavilions on the north and south sides. There are limestone panels between the windows on the first and second stories. Above the second story windows are large decorative smooth stone disks. The roof line is flat. The district courtroom is located on the east side of the second story and has no wood bar between spectator seating and court uses, a highly unusual absence. The oak judicial furnishings are simple and have a repeated motif on wainscoting, the jury box, tables, and judge’s bench: a course consisting of a series of small triangular shapes. Six hanging light fixtures appear original. The building houses the District Court and County Court of the 11th Judicial District.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Gosper County Courthouse


See:  The 11th Judicial District includes Arthur CountyChase County, Dawson CountyDundy County, Frontier County, Furnas County, Hayes CountyHitchcock County, Hooker CountyKeith CountyLincoln County, Logan CountyMcPherson CountyPerkins County, Red Willow County and Thomas County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Daviesville was designated as the county seat. In 1884, the county seat was moved to Homerville. The county occupied a sod building and the first courthouse was a two story lumber structure built in 1884. The lumber had been hauled from Arapahoe. The county seat was moved to Elwood in 1889 and the courthouse was hauled to the new location. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on November 14, 1895. The second courthouse was a two story structure built in 1896. The courthouse was torn down and the third and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939 at a cost of $76,000.



County Courthouse – Elwood


















County District Court and county Court courtroom

















County District Court and County Court courtroom in 2010







Photos taken 2010 and 2023