Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Davis County

Davis County


Davis County is named for Garrett Davis, who was a Congressman and later a United States Senator from Kentucky.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Wapello County

E – Van Buren County

S – Scotland County, Missouri and Schuyler County, Missouri 

W – Appanoose County


Created:  February 17, 1843                  Map of Iowa highlighting Davis County

County Seat:

Bloomfield  1844 – present


County Courthouse – Bloomfield


Location:  100 Courthouse Square / West Franklin Street – Madison Street

Built:  1877 – 1878

Style:  Victorian, Second Empire and General Grant Gothic

Architect:  T J Tolan & Son

Contractor:  W B Larkworthy and E W Menke


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story stone structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Bloomfield. The building has wrought iron trim and a mansard roof with small dormer windows. The central entrance section projects from the main building. On the center of the roof is a large square cupola with clock and with The Goddess of Justice at the top. In the interior the County District Court courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 8A Judicial District. 


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Davis County Courthouse


See:  The 8A Judicial District includes Appanoose County, Jefferson CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyPoweshiek County, Van Buren CountyWapello County and Washington County.



History:  The county was created in 1843 and Bloomfield was selected as the county seat in 1844. The first courthouse was built in 1844 in Bloomfield at a cost of $339. In 1951, a Methodist church was used as a courtroom until 1875. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1977 to 1878 at a cost of $45,201.



County Courthouse – Bloomfield 







County District Court courtroom





Photos taken 2008