Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Wapello County

Wapello County


Wapello County is named for Chief Wapello, who was a chief of the Fox Native American tribe.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mahaska County and Keokuk County 

E – Jefferson County

S – Davis County

W – Monroe County


Created:  February 17, 1843                  Map of Iowa highlighting Wapello County

County Seat:

Ottumwa  1843 – present


County Courthouse – Ottumwa


Location:  101 West 4th Street / North Court Street

Built:  1892 – 1894

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  Foster & Liebbe

Contractor:   G Stanfford


Description: The building faces southwest and is a four story buff rough-cut sandstone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Ottumwa. The south front has a projecting center section with large arch at the first story entrance which rises to the second story. Above are two small windows and a large window rising to a peak with the statue of Chief Wapello at the top. On the southeast corner is a large square tower which was formerly a clock tower. On the southwest corner is a small turret at the roof line. The building houses the County District Court of the 8A Judicial District.


See:  The 8A Judicial District includes Appanoose County, Davis CountyJefferson CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyPoweshiek County, Van Buren County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1843 and Ottumwa was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1846 at a cost of $1,000. In 1872, the second courthouse was built. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 to 1894 at a cost of $135,000.



County Courthouse – Ottumwa  









Photos taken 2008