Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Poweshiek County

Poweshiek County

Poweshiek County is named for Poweshiek, who was a Fox chief that supported peace in the Black Hawk War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Tama County

E – Iowa County

S – Keokuk County and Mahaska County

W – Jasper County


Created:  February 17, 1843                  Map of Iowa highlighting Poweshiek County

County Seat:

Montezuma  1843 – present


County Courthouse – Montezuma


Location:  302 East Main Street / South 3rd Street

Built:  1857 – 1859

Style:  Classical Greek Revival

Architect:  Drake & Dryden

Contractor:  Drake & Dryden


Description: The building faces north and is a two story dark red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Montezuma. The north front has a large square brick tower rising to a white colored octagonal bell tower with white colored dome. The entrance is framed by an arch at the base of the tower. The base of the building is course stone. The building houses the County District Court of the 8A Judicial District. An addition was built on the south side in 1890, and the building was renovated in 1933. A further addition was built on the south side in 1982.


See:  The 8A Judicial District includes Appanoose County, Davis CountyJefferson CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyVan Buren CountyWapello County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1843 and Montezuma was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1850. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1857 to 1859 at a cost of $1928.



County Courthouse – Montezuma











County District Court courtroom







Photos taken 2008 and 2012