Skip to content
Home » US States » H-L » Iowa » Van Buren County

Van Buren County


Van Buren County is named for Martin Van Buren, who was President of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Jefferson County

E – Henry County and Lee County

S – Clark County, Missouri and Scotland County, Missouri

W – Davis County


Created:  December 7, 1836                  Map of Iowa highlighting Van Buren County

County Seat:

Farmington  1837 – 1838

Keosauqua   1838 – present


County Courthouse – Keosauqua


Location:  406 Dodge Street / Broadway Street

Built:  1840 – 1843

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  John Fairman and James Hall

Contractor:  John Fairman and James Hall


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story light red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Keosauqua. One foot square oak timbers support the floor. The roof eaves extend out from the building. The windows have stone headers and lentils and the timbers and trusses are oak. The roof is hipped. The interior is finished in walnut. The courtroom occupies the whole second story. The building houses the County District Court of the 8A Judicial District. A modern addition has been constructed on the south side.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Van Buren County Courthouse


Note:  The present courthouse is the oldest courthouse in Iowa.


See:  The 8A Judicial District includes Appanoose County, Davis CountyJefferson CountyKeokuk CountyMahaska CountyMonroe CountyPoweshiek County, Wapello County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1836 and Framington was designated as the county seat in 1837. The county seat was moved to Keosauqua in 1838. The first and present courthouse was constructed in 1840 to 1843.



 County Courthouse –  Keosauqua



















Photos taken 2008